Test 1


Ad space2







Tuesday, June 12, 2018

June 12: Governor Ambode Unveils 37-feet Abiola Statue, Agitates For Restructuring

Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode on Tuesday unveiled the new 37-feet Chief Moshood Kashimao Olawale, MKO Abiola statue at Alapere area of the state in honour of the acclaimed winner of the June 12, 1993 presidential election.

The governor also canvassed for restructuring of the nation that will lead to fiscal federalism and devolution of power.
The governor spoke at two events in honour of Abiola. The first event was the June 12 Anniversary celebration at the Blue Roof, Lagos Television, Ikeja and the unveiling of the Abiola Statue held at Alapere area of Ketu, Southwest Nigeria.
Speaking at the June 12 anniversary, Ambode said the theme of the event,
“Restructuring: Antidote for Ineffective and Ineffective Politics”, was apt, stressing that as a State and people, “our stand on a restructuring process that will lead to fiscal federalism, devolution of power is very clear.
“Our present democratic experience may still be far from ideal but we must all make concerted efforts to entrench fiscal federalism which is the only way to achieve true nationhood. We are absolutely convinced that it is the right way to go for us to realise the optimum potential and prosperity of the federating States and the nation.”
He said since the annulment of June 12, the struggle for its actualization had continued until President Muhammadu Buhari pronounced the day as Democracy Day and conferring posthumous award on Abiola, Chief Gani Fawehinmi and others.
The governor said by this singular act of the president, he had written his name in Gold in the political history of Nigeria, adding that this formal recognition is a crown of victory to the struggle that had taken the lives of so many nationalists and patriots.
The governor saluted leaders of the struggle, including Gen. Alani Akinrinade, Prof. Wole Soyinka, Ambassador Walter Carrington, Justice Dolapo Akinsanya, Chief Frank Kokori, Rear Admiral Ndubuisi Kanu, Mr. Wale Oshun, Alhaji Balarabe Musa and other Nigerians and Civil Society Organisations, trade and labour unions, among others.

No comments:

Post a Comment